The Cart is a temporary holding space for People records. You can add People to the Cart, then process these People records all at once, by generating labels or dumping the contents of the cart to a group.
You may put an unlimited number of People in the Cart. Putting someone in the Cart does nothing to their record, they are just temporarily assigned to the Cart. You can put someone in the Cart, then remove then without doing any processing, and their record will remain unchanged.
The Cart is user- and session-specific. Every User has his or her own Cart, and that Cart will only last until the User logs off – Carts do not span sessions.
On the top menu, second row, right side, a real-time counter will tell you how many records you have in the Cart. This counter will go up or down as you add or remove records.
To see the actual records in your Cart, click on “List Cart Items” (under “Cart”). This will display all records currently in the Cart.
There several ways to do this:
To add an individual Person:
3. If this Person does not already exist in the cart, they will be added.
Alternately, you can view the desired Person record, and within that record will be a link for “Add to Cart.” Clicking this link accomplishes the same thing as the process described above.
To add the results of a report:
Some reports will allow you to dump the results to the Cart, and some won't – it depends what the report returns. Since the cart holds People, a report that returned Family records will not allow the results to be placed in the Cart.
To add all people assigned to a Group:
Note: To empty the Cart completely, click the “Empty Cart” link at the bottom of the page. Do NOT, however, confuse this with “Empty Cart to Group.” “Empty Cart” simply removes all People from the Cart, without moving them anywhere.